If you're searching for the best AMC Clinical exam prep course, you'll notice that most providers sound alike until you read the detail: how the teaching is delivered, whether you can rewatch it, how mock exams work and what you actually pay. This guide compares eight current courses from seven providers, using only what each provider publishes about itself, so you can match a course to your exam date, budget and the way you learn.
We're LearnMedicine, so our own membership is in this comparison. We've tried to be just as plain about where it fits, and where another course may suit you better. Provider details were checked against each provider's own website on 6 October 2026.
Before you compare. The AMC states that it provides information about bridging courses but "does not endorse or accredit individual bridging programs". No course, including ours, can guarantee a pass, registration or a job. Prices and inclusions change, so confirm them on the provider's site before you pay.
On this page
- AMC Clinical, PESCI, registration and jobs
- The courses at a glance
- Provider by provider
- How to choose for your situation
- Checklist before you pay
- Frequently asked questions
AMC Clinical, PESCI, registration and jobs
These are distinct processes run by different organisations, and which ones apply to you depends on your pathway and the role you're applying for.
- AMC Clinical is an AMC assessment. For the current format, eligibility, dates and fees, use the AMC's clinical examination page.
- PESCI is a position-specific interview that the Medical Board of Australia requires for some IMGs applying to work in general practice. Not everyone needs one.
- Registration is decided by the Medical Board, and employment by an employer. Passing an AMC assessment or holding an AMC certificate doesn't by itself grant either.
A prep course can improve how you perform in an assessment. It doesn't control registration or hiring decisions. If you're unsure which steps apply to you, start with the Medical Board's guidance on the Standard pathway.
The courses at a glance
These products are not like for like. Some are full courses, some are coaching by the hour and some are study platforms, so this table is not a price ranking. Prices are copied as each provider lists them; where a currency isn't shown next to the price, we say so. Confirm the exact package, currency, GST, inclusions and dates with the provider.
| Course | Format | Listed price | Length or access | Live teaching | Mocks and feedback | Recordings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LearnMedicine membership | Online, self-paced, plus live sessions | AUD $799 / $899 / $999, paid once | 3, 6 or 12 months; no automatic renewal | Regular live sessions with Dr Roman, complimentary for members while the current offer continues | Exam-style practice questions; no formal timed mock exam listed | Yes, the core of the course |
| ARIMGSAS 8-week course | Full-time in Melbourne and on Zoom, 9am–5pm, 6–7 days a week | AUD $4,150–$4,600 | 8 weeks; slides available for 6 months | Daily lectures and role-play practice | One simulated clinical exam with detailed feedback; five workshops | No recordings |
| ARIMGSAS 12-week after-hours course | Zoom, weekday evenings and weekend days (Melbourne time) | AUD $2,750–$3,660 | 12 weeks; slides accessible for 6 months | Lectures with role-play practice | Optional discounted trial exam (AUD $600) | No recordings or replacement classes |
| Institute of Medical Education IM400 | 100% online | AUD $4,992.50 | 1 year | Tutor access advertised; live schedule and format to confirm | 10 full-length clinical trial exams (160 cases) with worked solutions; ask whether any are individually assessed | Format: online modules and clinical tutorials (recordings not stated) |
| PassAMC (PassGP) | Online platform and app | Foundation from $295; Examiner’s Choice from $1,895 — confirm currency and access period | Varies by package | Live groups on eligible plans; Examiner’s Choice adds 5 hours of one-to-one teaching | "Realistic clinical circuits" and answered clinical cases | Podcasts and short videos |
| Oyamed | Online one-to-one coaching | $720 (6 h); $3,450 (30 h); $3,950 (30 h + 3 mocks) — currency to confirm | By coaching hours | One-to-one sessions | 3 mocks in the top package; standalone 16-station mock listed at AUD $345 | Not stated |
| Academically | Live Zoom classes plus recordings | Not shown on the course page | 4-month course; resource access advertised for more than a year—confirm terms | 100+ hours of Zoom teaching and OSCE practice | Mock tests, AI-driven mock tests and a final practice OSCE; one-on-one feedback | Yes |
| AMC4IMGs | Online recorded sessions; face-to-face physical examination classes in Sydney | On enquiry | On enquiry | Not detailed | Mock examinations; one-to-one mentoring | Yes, 24/7 access |
Provider by provider
LearnMedicine
Our membership is led by Dr Roman Pathak, an Australian GP who passed both PESCI and AMC Clinical. Every membership includes both our AMC Clinical and PESCI courses. The AMC Clinical material is organised into collections covering medicine and surgery, physical examination, paediatrics, obstetrics and gynaecology, psychiatry, counselling cases and case summaries.
Each recorded lesson comes with full clinical notes. Around the lessons you get 3,000+ flashcards, exam-style practice questions, a personal notebook, a study planner and an AI tutor that answers from LearnMedicine lessons, with up to 30 questions per UTC day. Regular live sessions with Dr Roman are complimentary for members while the current offer continues, with dates and links in your dashboard and member group. Membership also includes two CV and cover letter review submissions per account while your membership is active.
Trade-offs: it's online only, so there's no supervised hands-on examination practice, and the membership doesn't list a formal timed mock exam with marked feedback. You'll want a study partner for regular role play.
Suits: doctors who are working or studying around family, want to rewatch teaching as often as they need, prefer a fixed paid-once price, or want PESCI material available in the same membership.
Choosing a plan. All three plans include the same courses and study tools, are paid once and don't renew automatically.
- 3 months, AUD $799: suits you if your exam date is booked and close.
- 6 months, AUD $899: $100 more than 3 months, and adds Priority Clinical Q&A Support. A sensible middle option if your date isn't fixed yet.
- 12 months, AUD $999: another $100 buys six more months of access, also with Priority Clinical Q&A Support. Worth it if you're early in preparation or want time to use both courses.
Pick the length that matches your timeline rather than the longest by default. Human replies to your questions are asynchronous, not live chat.
Compare membership plans · Explore AMC Clinical preparation
ARIMGSAS
ARIMGSAS runs two very different formats. The 8-week course is full-time, 9am to 5pm, six to seven days a week, delivered face to face in Melbourne and on Zoom. It includes one simulated clinical exam with detailed feedback and workshops in physical examination, ECG, women's health, fracture management and communication skills. The 12-week after-hours course runs on Zoom on weekday evenings and weekend days, with set intakes and an optional discounted trial exam.
Trade-offs: neither page offers recordings, and the after-hours page says missed sessions are not replaced. The full-time course also means time away from work, and travel to Melbourne if you want the face-to-face sessions.
Suits: the 8-week course suits doctors who can commit full time and want an immersive classroom routine. The 12-week course suits doctors who can protect fixed evening and weekend hours.
Institute of Medical Education (IM400)
The IM400 program is fully online with one year of access. It bundles online modules and clinical tutorials, 10 full-length clinical trial exams totalling 160 cases with worked solutions, and advertised tutor access. The Medical Board also lists the Institute of Medical Education as an approved PESCI provider; its AMC preparation program is a separate product.
Trade-offs: the page doesn't set out a live teaching schedule, and trial cases with worked solutions aren't the same as individually marked mock stations. Ask how tutor access and any feedback work before you enrol.
Suits: candidates who want a large set of full-length practice cases across a longer preparation window.
PassAMC
PassAMC, from PassGP, offers a Clinical exam bank with case practice, an AI virtual tutor, an app and live groups on eligible plans. Its Clinical page lists Foundation packages from $295 and Examiner's Choice from $1,895, with five hours of personalised one-to-one teaching in the latter. Confirm currency, access period and the selected package's inclusions before purchasing.
Trade-offs: packages, prices and live access vary, and the headline package prices aren't tied to a specific Clinical access period on the page. Check exactly what your chosen Clinical package includes and how long it lasts.
Suits: self-directed learners who want a large case bank, particularly if they're also preparing for the MCQ.
Oyamed
Oyamed sells online one-to-one coaching by the hour: a 6-hour intensive, a 30-hour comprehensive package, or 30 hours plus three mocks. The package prices don't show a currency, so confirm it. Its standalone 16-station AMC Clinical mock exam is listed at AUD $345 and advertises verbal feedback straight away or written feedback within 48 hours.
Trade-offs: you're paying for coaching time rather than a large library, so the per-hour cost matters.
Suits: candidates who want personal feedback on their performance, often close to the exam.
Academically
Academically lists a four-month course with 100+ hours of Zoom teaching and OSCE practice, recordings and extended resource access advertised for more than a year. The course page we checked didn't show a price.
Suits: doctors who want a structured, cohort-style schedule but still need recordings as a back-up.
AMC4IMGs
AMC4IMGs is Sydney-based. It offers full and subject-based clinical courses online with 24/7 access to recorded sessions, plus face-to-face physical examination classes in Sydney. Its pages mention mock examinations and one-to-one mentoring. Prices and schedules are given on enquiry.
Suits: doctors in or near Sydney who want in-person examination practice alongside recorded teaching.
How to choose for your situation
There isn't a single best course, only the best fit for where you are now.
- Your exam is booked and close. Look for performance feedback: coaching hours, marked mocks or full trial exams. Pair them with a resource you can revise from quickly.
- Your exam is months away. Choose something you can sustain. Long access, recordings and spaced revision tools matter more than a short burst of intensity.
- You're working full time. Check the timetable against your rosters and time zone. If sessions aren't recorded, a missed evening is simply missed.
- You've been away from clinical work. Rebuild Australian clinical reasoning first, then add station practice. Rehearsed scripts are hard to adapt when a station goes somewhere unexpected.
- You need hands-on examination practice. Online courses can teach examination technique, but supervised practice on a real person needs an in-person class or a practice partner.
- You're also aiming for general practice. Check whether you'll need PESCI preparation too, and whether one provider covers both.
If self-paced recorded teaching with regular live sessions fits that picture, see how LearnMedicine membership works. If you need full-time classroom immersion or many marked mock exams, one of the other options may suit you better, and you can still explore our self-paced AMC Clinical material alongside it.
Checklist before you pay
Ask every provider, including us:
- Who teaches? What's their clinical background and their own AMC experience?
- How are mocks run? Live examiner or recorded? Marked against what criteria? Written or verbal feedback?
- Can you rewatch? What happens if you miss a live class?
- Does the timetable fit? Check your time zone, rosters and caring responsibilities.
- What's the total cost? Confirm the currency and GST, and add mocks, workshops, travel and accommodation.
- How long is access, and does it renew automatically?
- What's the refund policy? Read it before you pay.
- How are pass-rate claims calculated? Ask who was counted, over what period, whether they're first attempts and whether anyone verified the figure.
- Is it built on reasoning or "recalls"? Be cautious of material that claims to reproduce real exam stations. Reasoning grounded in current Australian guidelines carries over to any station, and to the patients you'll see afterwards.
- Does it cover what comes next? PESCI preparation, CV review or job guidance may matter to you after the exam.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AMC Clinical exam prep course?
It depends on your timeline, budget and learning style. Full-time classroom courses, one-to-one coaching, platforms with large case banks and self-paced recorded teaching all suit different doctors. Use the comparison table and checklist to shortlist two or three, then check their current pages.
How much does AMC Clinical preparation cost?
It varies with the type of product. In this comparison, ARIMGSAS lists AUD $2,750–$3,660 for its 12-week after-hours course and AUD $4,150–$4,600 for its 8-week course, the IM400 program is AUD $4,992.50 for a year, and LearnMedicine membership is AUD $799–$999 for 3 to 12 months. One-to-one coaching is priced by the hour. Because these products include different things, compare what you get rather than the headline price. The AMC's own exam fee is separate; check the AMC page for current fees.
Should I choose an online or face-to-face AMC Clinical course?
Compare the actual practice and feedback each course gives you rather than the format alone. Recorded online teaching can fit around shift work and lets you rewatch difficult topics. You'll still need hands-on examination practice, whether through an in-person class or a practice partner.
Do I need PESCI as well as AMC Clinical?
Not necessarily. The Medical Board requires a PESCI for some IMGs applying to work in general practice, and it's position-specific and separate from AMC Clinical. Check which requirements apply to your pathway on the Medical Board's PESCI page.
Is any AMC Clinical course endorsed by the AMC?
No. The AMC says it does not endorse or accredit individual bridging programs. LearnMedicine is independent and is not the AMC, RACGP or IME.
Is LearnMedicine a subscription?
No. Membership is paid once for 3, 6 or 12 months at AUD $799, $899 or $999, with no automatic renewal. Every membership includes both our AMC Clinical and PESCI courses.
Ready to start preparing?
Choose a course you'll actually use every week. If self-paced lessons, regular live teaching with an Australian GP and study tools built around every lesson sound right for you, compare LearnMedicine membership plans and pick the length that matches your exam date. You can also explore AMC Clinical preparation or PESCI preparation first.
LearnMedicine is independent preparation and is not the AMC, RACGP or IME. Assessment, registration and employment outcomes are not guaranteed.
